USCIS RFE Response Review Processing Time: 93+ days

Anil Gupta  19 Mar, 19      332  USA USCIS Processing Time

USCIS RFE Response Review Processing Time 2019

The average RFE response processing time is 93 days in 2018.
RFE premium processing time is 15 Days to virtually no time limit for regular applications.

USCIS Request for Evidence review – RFE processing times vary widely with each case individually. H1B RFE and L1 visa RFE are most common but, can be made in any visa application type.

Related: Current H1B processing times – Nebraska, California, Vermont – Updated Daily

USCIS’s official guideline says that they will respond to RFE within 60 days after your RFE response submission.
60-day clock starts on the day USCIS receives your RFE response.

How long USCIS takes to respond to RFE varies widely on case-to-case basis along with USCIS workload. USCIS can even deny an application without RFE now.

Once USCIS receives your RFE response, the status that they show online is ‘RFE Response Review‘ or ‘Request for Evidence Response Review‘.

This is just an average these days, your case may hang around with USCIS for more than 90 days too. You can expedite the response by upgrading your application to Premium Processing.

Related: Current H4 Processing Time 2018 – California, Vermont – Updated Daily

USCIS RFE Response time with Premium processing

The premium processing timeline is NOT followed if USCIS has suspended premium processing!

  1. If you filed your visa petition using premium processing, your case will be worked on by USCIS within 15 calendar days.
  2. This 15 calendar days limit also applies to RFE responses as well. The USCIS clock starts as and when they receive your RFE response.
  3. If you initially filed your application using standard method (no premium), you can upgrade it to premium at any time during your application is in pending any final result.
    Once the upgrade to the premium application is received by USCIS, your case will be responded within 15 calendar days.
USCIS RFE response review processing time
USCIS RFE response review processing time

Fastest and Slowest RFE review response?

  1. Fastest RFE response is undoubtedly achieved using Premium processing. – 15 days.
  2. Average is about 93 days.
  3. Slowest has no limits. We know of people who have waited for even a year for RFE review response.

Related: Current H4 EAD, L2 EAD processing time 2018 – Vermont, Texas, California, Nebraska – Updated Daily

USCIS RFE again on RFE Response time

  1. It is possible to get RFE again on RFE response that you submitted. Whenever you receive a new RFE, you get 60 days to respond back.
  2. The USCIS resets its OWN clock to start counting 60 days (15 days in case of Premium processing) as and when you submit RFE response.

USCIS: We stopped the 15-day premium processing clock for your case

This is the case status shown on your case if USCIS has issued an RFE request. The clock is re-started when you submit your RFE response.

USCIS RFE response review – Exceptions to 15 Days premium rule

If your case has been sent for ‘Security Check‘, you are out-of-luck seriously. There are no TIME LIMITS followed in this case even if your application has ‘premium‘ processing paid for.

   Read all 332 Q & A

1 5 6 7



  1. Hi,

    I filled RFE Response on this 26 Feb, as per above information generally it takes 90 days for USCIS response.. shall i wait for at least 45 days or shall i goes with premium process .. as I heard few cases are approved in 30 days recently .


  2. Hi,

    I just want to ask about my agency who filed me under EB3 premium processing is taking too long. Its been almost a month. Am i expecting an RFE with this?

    I am just worried that its over due for my premium processing.

    • Anil Gupta   18 Mar, 19 at 7:40 am

      Overdue in premium processing does not necessarily mean an RFE.
      Check with your agency as to whether they have really filed your application in premium processing or not.

  3. Amit Desai   14 Mar, 19 at 3:33 am

    Hi Anil,

    My Company has filed my L1A individual VISA on 1st May 2018 and i received my status tracking number on 30th May 2018 ..After that i receive RFE on 1st oct 2018 to which i have responded on 17th Dec and till now i didn’t receive any update on my VISA.

    I have read on USCIS website that after RFE processing time is upto 93 days. my 93 days will complete on 20th march.

    Any idea how long more it take?

    Thanks In Advance!!!

    • Anil Gupta   14 Mar, 19 at 8:17 am

      I guess you have read 93 days RFE response time on our website and not USCIS website.

      The 93 days is average RFE response time. It can be more too with no specific time limit.

      • Amit Desai   14 Mar, 19 at 8:27 am

        But my team mate submitted 1 month after me and recieved RFE on 10th Sept and submitted RFE response on 3rd Dec and he just go approve petition on 19th Feb…In my case I am bit confused because not able to find reason for delay

        • Anil Gupta   14 Mar, 19 at 7:03 pm

          Nobody can tell you the reason for delay. Its just your luck that your application is taking more time.

          • Amit Desai   19 Mar, 19 at 6:17 am

            Hi Anil,

            Over the internet i read that “Most people who have responded to an RFE can, however, expect further action by USCIS within about 60 days. If you don’t receive a response or update within 94 days since USCIS originally sent you the RFE, it’s a good idea to call the National Customer Service Center at 1-800-375-5283.”

            Is it a good option to call Customer Service Center.

            Please suggest !!!

            Thanks..

            • Anil Gupta   19 Mar, 19 at 8:12 am

              What do you want me to suggest?
              And where have you read this information and copy pasted here?

            • Amit Desai   19 Mar, 19 at 8:13 am

              I am just trying to get relevant information…but I never heard anyone made call to customers care…so was wondering if it is good option.

            • Anil Gupta   19 Mar, 19 at 8:21 am

              I cannot comment on what you read on “internet” when you do not even share where you read it.

              Only your employer can call USCIS and raise a service request and that too when your receipt date has passed the “Raise SR” date for your case.

            • Amit Desai   19 Mar, 19 at 8:21 am

              Thanks Anil…just last one question how can we check what is my receipt data…

            • Anil Gupta   19 Mar, 19 at 8:30 am

              What do you mean by receipt data?


  4. Hi Anil,

    My H1B has been filed with USCIS through Normal Process and They Received my case on March 5 2018 and received RFE January 28 2019. Still i didn’t get any response yet. My attorney suggested to wait another month so.

    May i know how long it will take to get the approval by considering current situation?

    Thanks,


  5. Hello Anil

    I just got my H1- B approved but I am on consular processing. As far as I read online, it means that my status does not get changed to H1-B till I get my visa stamped.
    I am currently looking to change my employer so do you think I can get my H1-B transfered right now or should I have to wait till I got to India and get the stamp?


  6. My h1b was picked in lottery and there was an RFE in October 2018. We responded within a few days and since there was no response we upgraded to premium on 30 Jan. The case status even after 15 days premium still shows “On xx, we mailed you a request for additional evidence..”. My attorneys have no update even though they raised a service request last week. Seems very odd to me, but have there been similar cases before? If so, does it imply any higher chances of denial. I am working with a product company and the RFE was to submit all the pay slips for a certain duration to prove maintanece of status.

    • Anil Gupta   7 Mar, 19 at 9:27 am

      I have not heard of any such cases before. The only way is to call USCIS and ask for status.
      Your attorney would have access to USCIS premium service email as they have upgraded your application and can ask for status there for faster response.


  7. We are still reviewing your case and there are no updates at this time
    We will notify you when your case status changes. We last took action on your case on February 20, 2019.

    ——–
    Has any one got this reply from USCIS and after how many days of this mail , someone got a status update from USCIS.

    Thanks.

    • Anil Gupta   6 Mar, 19 at 4:17 pm

      This is a general message and does not really mean anything substantial. You can ignore it.


      • I raised a service request; they (uscis) replied saying “your case is under review and we will notify about our action in 45days”…. has anyone got such reply and do they really respond within 45 days….. or ??

        • Anil Gupta   18 Mar, 19 at 5:05 pm

          This is simply a timeline for responding to your service request and not your original case.


  8. Hi Anil,

    i have submitted my L1 extension along with dependents as well.. and i recently responded on my RFE.. when i looked at my dependents receipt number status in USCIS case status , it shows below number.. how this can be possible ?

    My Case Status does not recognize the receipt number entered. Please check your receipt number and try again. If you need further assistance, please call the USCIS Contact Center at 1-800-375-5283.


  9. Hi,

    My H1 was raised in last April 2018 and got RFE. RFE was replied in Nov 19, 2018 and the status is RFE received as of now. When can i expect response? I am on H4 currently and my I94 will expire on April 14 2018. My husband’s extension will be filed next week. Should my H4 be filed along with my husband extension ? If my H1 is approved before my husband’s extension approved should my H4 be withdrawn ? if my H1 is approved after my I94 expires will there be any problem?
    Any suggestions would be helpful?

    • Anil Gupta   4 Mar, 19 at 5:37 pm

      You should have upgraded your H1B to premium to get result before filing H4 extension.

      Once you file H4 extension, you will add un-necessary complexity to your case.

      If your H4 is approved while your H4 extension is pending, you will have to withdraw your h4 application explicitly.

      It is okay if H1B is approved after your i94 expiry.

1 5 6 7