USCIS RFE Response Review Processing Time: 70+ days

USCIS RFE Processing time is 70+ days in 2019 - regular. Premium RFE is 15 days. 60 days to submit Response for Review. Premium Clock stops and re-starts.

Written by Am22tech
  By Am22tech      Updated  25 Aug, 19

  427    


RFE Processing Time – 70+ days

The average RFE response processing time is 70 days in 2019. RFE premium processing time is 15 Days to virtually no time limit for regular applications.

USCIS Request for Evidence review – RFE processing times vary widely with each case individually. H1B RFE and L1 visa RFE are most common but, can be made in any visa application type.

USCIS’s official guideline is to respond to RFE within 60 days after your RFE response submission. 60-day clock starts on the day USCIS receives your RFE response. The total H1B processing time will increase if your employer takes full 60 days to respond to RFE.

How long USCIS takes to respond to RFE varies widely on case-to-case basis along with USCIS workload. USCIS can even deny an application without RFE now.

The USCIS status online will show as ‘RFE Response Review‘ or ‘Request for Evidence Response Review‘.

You can expedite the response by upgrading your application to Premium Processing.

RFE Response Time in Premium – 15 days

USCIS premium processing RFE response is 15 calendar days including weekends. The premium clock stops when USCIS issues RFE and waits till you respond.

USCIS status will be: We stopped the 15-day premium processing clock for your case. The premium timer starts again on the date USCIS receives your RFE response.

You can upgrade your regular application to premium at the time of submitting RFE response.  USCIS will refund your Premium processing fees if they take decision on your case before they receive your premium request.

Upgrade to Premium results in RFE?

Upgrading your H1B case to premium does not increase chances of RFE. Do not worry. Its a rumor. If the RFE has to be issued on your case, USCIS will issue it in regular processing as well.

Usually, people who are asking questions about RFE on forums are the ones who’s employer has not submitted complete paperwork. The direct approval without RFE cases do not get reported as much as RFE cases. Hence, you get an impression that upgrading to premium resulted in RFE. This is not true.

I always recommend going for premium to receive your result faster and get peace of mind.

You cannot upgrade your application to premium if USCIS has suspended premium processing.

Fastest and Slowest RFE review response?

Fastest RFE response is 15 days with Premium processing

Average RFE response processing time is 70 days.

Slowest RFE time has no limits. We know of people who have waited for even a year for RFE review response.

USCIS RFE again on RFE Response time

It is possible to get second RFE after RFE response submission. You should respond within 60 days to your RFE.

The USCIS resets its OWN clock to start counting 60 days (15 days in case of Premium processing) as and when you submit RFE response.

RFE Response Review Pending for More Than 6 months?

Many cases are sent to security check to FBI and other government agencies. If your case is one of them, then there is no time limit for RFE response review.

You can call USCIS and they will clearly mention the reason for delay as ‘Security check pending’.

USCIS does not honor premium processing time of 15 days in case of security clearance. There is no way to expedite this case. Your only option is to wait.


USA USCIS Processing Time
 



Recent discussion on forum

  1. Anil.Gupta
    Anil.Gupta

    USCIS will announce H1B premium processing start date for April 2019 lottery selected applications in June 2019.

    You should be able to get H1B approval in premium before Sep 2019 end.


  2. MRA007
    MRA007

    Thanks Anil that helps


  3. marinaaj
    marinaaj

    Thank you for your quick reply.

    Based on your experience, do you think the wait will be much longer? There are not many RFE forum posts about pictures but most of them are resolved within a few weeks so I feel like mine is already taking longer than normal… do you think it will be sorted out soon?

    Thanks again,

    Marina


  4. MRA007
    MRA007

    Thanks Anil that’s helpful


  5. Anil.Gupta
    Anil.Gupta

    Hi @Karthick1288

    RFE response time is 90+ days at this time.

    What was RFE about?


Comments are closed. Ask question on Forum (we answer in 1-24 hour)

32 more replies

  427 Useful Questions & Answers

  1. k_H12018
    k_H12018 28 Jan, 19 at 8:52 pm

    My H1B got picked up in 2018 and on Jan 12th i see in USCIS status that it has been updated as RFE. I am currently working for a client for which the petition was filed. I am not sure that the current client still has opportunities. Suppose if I get release from the current client and go to a new client project what will be the complications. Can i still be able to resubmit RFE and get it approved for new client?. Also can i upgrade my case to premium since i see that USCIS have suspended premium till feb. Can i upgrade to premium when i resubmit my RFE case.


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:02 am

      Your question is not clear as to which client are you working for right now.
      Also, what has been requested in RFE?

      Unless you know what has been requested, there is no use of speculating.
      If the RFE has requested for Client letter, then you have to get it from client and submit it. There is no other way.

      You cannot upgrade to premium until premium processing is re-opened by USCIS.


      • k_H12018
        k_H12018 9 Feb, 19 at 10:12 am

        Thank you. I am working for a manufacturing client in India now and not sure whether the client still has opportunities for me to travel to USA. If i get release from this new client and join another client where i have opportunities to travel. Currently I have recieved RFE and If my employer resubmits the RFE with the new client details, will there be chance for rejection.


        • Anil Gupta
          Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:42 am

          If the employer submits the RFE response with new client details, you should be good and you can still get approval.


  2. Ka
    Ka 28 Jan, 19 at 8:51 pm

    Hi Anil,

    does the ‘government shutdown’ affect the visa/RFE response timing in any way?


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:02 am

      USCIS keeps working in government shutdown. i have covered it separately here:
      https://www.am22tech.com/does-uscis-work-during-government-shutdown/


      • Ka
        Ka 9 Feb, 19 at 10:12 am

        Thank you.

        Our company applied for two H1Bs, we got picked in the lottery and both got the same RFE. The company responded on the same day. My friend got her approval 3 weeks ago, I am still waiting for mine. She was picked in the lottery about a week before me. Should I be worried that my response takes much longer? Our RFEs were sent on the same day..


        • Anil Gupta
          Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:42 am

          There is no guarantee that applications RFE response filed at the same time will get result at same time too.
          I have seen applications getting approved months apart even though they were filed together.

          So, it really is your luck that plays here 🙂
          Do not worry. If your friend’s application got approval after RFE, you will also get approval. Its just a matter of time.


          • Ka
            Ka 10 Feb, 19 at 12:25 pm

            I really, really hope so.. Thank you!!


          • Ka
            Ka 10 Feb, 19 at 12:26 pm

            I just got it approved yesterday. They told me today. It was the 77th day since my RFE submition at Vermont. I am super happy!


            • Anil Gupta
              Anil Gupta 10 Feb, 19 at 12:30 pm

              Congratulations. Enjoy. Thanks for sharing the details.


              • Ka
                Ka 11 Feb, 19 at 8:12 am

                Thank you!


  3. Vikas Naga
    Vikas Naga 28 Jan, 19 at 8:51 pm

    Hi Anil
    I got an RFE for my H1b (I-129) in the month of October submitted a response in the month of November . I still did not hear back any response from USCIS . Is there a way my employer can call them and ask the details as I have some family emergency and need to visit India and Also if i dont hear back from USCIS by the next h1b time can my employer put a new H1-b for me or how does it work ?


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:02 am

      If your service center’s raise service request date is passed, your emploEmp can raise a status check request with USCIS.
      Check date here:
      https://www.am22tech.com/uscis/current-h1b-processing-times/


      • vikas naga
        vikas naga 9 Feb, 19 at 10:11 am

        so my Response To USCIS’ Request For Evidence Was Received On November 23, 2018 so when can my employer raise a status check request with USCIS


        • Anil Gupta
          Anil Gupta 10 Feb, 19 at 12:26 pm

          As I already said that service request can be raised only if the ‘raise SR’ date has passed for your receipt. It does not matter if you received RFE or not.


  4. Saranyan Sudarsanam
    Saranyan Sudarsanam 28 Jan, 19 at 8:51 pm

    Hi,

    The current status is rfe response received on Jan 16th 2019. My 241days cap ends on Feb 26th. Will there be any chance of getting response before 26th feb. Also Is 241 days cap still applicable or will there be any extra time given for a lawful presence since we have answered our rfe?


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:02 am

      You have not given any information about visa type and service center!


  5. Vin
    Vin 28 Jan, 19 at 8:51 pm

    Hi Anil, H1B Transfer submitted on May 15th 2018. RFE response received by USCIS on Nov 27 2018. Do you have any approximate guess when will I get a decision?


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:01 am

      Which service center is it?
      We have processing time data about each center here:
      https://www.am22tech.com/uscis/current-h1b-processing-times/


      • Vin
        Vin 9 Feb, 19 at 10:11 am

        Vermont


        • Anil Gupta
          Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:42 am

          There is no separate processing time for RFEs.
          You can expect your result on or before March end.


          • Vin
            Vin 10 Feb, 19 at 12:26 pm

            Thanks!


      • Vin
        Vin 9 Feb, 19 at 10:11 am

        That link is calculated for RFEs as well? Do you have approx idea for decision?


  6. yis
    yis 28 Jan, 19 at 8:51 pm

    finally… my h1b was approved..
    time line:
    April 26, 2018: case was received
    May 24, 2018: RFE was mailed
    August 15, 2018: RFE response was received
    Jan 18, 2019: Case was approved ..
    California processing

    So now i have a question..
    I am Canadian not born in India or China.. i am reading everywhere that i dont need to leave the US and get a stamp.. Does that mean i am done? Also, I can also request my company to start my green card process?


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:01 am

      Thanks for sharing your case details.
      If you are already in US, you must have got the H1B approval notice and the i94 would be attached to it.
      If you do have the i94 attached, you are done. No need to go out of USA.


      • Yis
        Yis 9 Feb, 19 at 10:11 am

        Yes , the I94 was attached bto the notice so I believe I am all set!
        Now the question I have, can I start my greencgree processing immediately?


  7. Sudha
    Sudha 28 Jan, 19 at 8:51 pm

    Hi,
    Just to let you guys know, my H1 got approved

    June , 2018: RFE was mailed
    August 7, 2018: RFE response was received
    August 13, 2018: Status changed to ‘Name was Updated’
    Jan 24, 2019: Case was approved ..
    California processing

    Waiting for the approval Notice.


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 28 Jan, 19 at 8:52 pm

      Thanks a lot for sharing your case details. I appreciate it.


    • Yuvaraj
      Yuvaraj 9 Feb, 19 at 10:01 am

      Hi Sudha, Did your status approval published in the USCIS case status portal or your employer shared the information? Just wanted to make sure if the portal is being updated by USCIS. Thanks.


      • Sudha
        Sudha 9 Feb, 19 at 10:11 am

        My status is showing up as Approved in the USCIS portal. I sent an email to my attorney, they did not know about it until I informed them.


        • Yuvaraj
          Yuvaraj 9 Feb, 19 at 10:42 am

          Thanks Sudha…


  8. disqus_zGgYVkogLu
    disqus_zGgYVkogLu 14 Jan, 19 at 9:48 am

    RFE Response received 8/6. 150 days and still no news… …


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 14 Jan, 19 at 10:05 am

      That’s sad. I can understand the pain of waiting infinitely with USCIS.


  9. Rahul Shinde
    Rahul Shinde 14 Jan, 19 at 9:48 am

    Hi, I submitted my RFE response in August for my H1B Visa. (CALIFORNIA OFFICE)
    The USCIS website shows “RFE response received on August 22nd 2018 and we are reviewing your case”.

    Now its over 120 days and I am still waiting for the update.
    How many people are facing the similar issue?
    Does anyone know when can I expect the decision?

    My attorney says wait till Feb 2019.


    • urraj123
      urraj123 28 Jan, 19 at 8:52 pm

      Rahul: Any update on your case


    • Yuvaraj
      Yuvaraj 9 Feb, 19 at 10:03 am

      Even I am in the same situation. My RFE was responded on Aug 23, 2018 and I am still waiting for response for RFE from CSC. My receipt date was 12/6/2017 waiting for more than a year…….. worser than yours….


      • Anil Gupta
        Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:13 am

        oops..this is extremely long!! Did you ask your attorney to raise service request?


        • urraj
          urraj 9 Feb, 19 at 10:44 am

          yes… he said there is an open SR and could not open an SR and will have to wait for the SR to close……..


          • Anil Gupta
            Anil Gupta 10 Feb, 19 at 12:28 pm

            Wow..USCIS is taking even longer to give response to SR!


            • urraj
              urraj 11 Feb, 19 at 8:14 am

              Appreciate…… your work….. your quick responses are consoling and supporting to quite a few people….


              • Anil Gupta
                Anil Gupta 11 Feb, 19 at 1:52 pm

                You are welcome. I am glad i am able to help.
                Let me know if you need more information.


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:03 am

      What is your receipt date? You can check if others have got their H1B approved around your receipt date or number here:
      https://www.am22tech.com/uscis/current-h1b-processing-times/


  10. Rahul Shinde
    Rahul Shinde 14 Jan, 19 at 9:48 am

    Thanks Anil.
    My receipt date was April 12th 2018.
    I received RFE on May 25th and RFE Response was received by USCIS on August 22nd 2018.


    • Anil Gupta
      Anil Gupta 9 Feb, 19 at 10:03 am

      Did you check on the link i shared if any cases around your receipt number have been approved or not?


      • Yuvaraj
        Yuvaraj 9 Feb, 19 at 10:13 am

        Could you please share that link to check on the status? Thanks…




Ask on forum - Get Answer in 1-24 hours